Programs

Youth camps & clubs

Camps

The Dumb Friends League offers seasonal camps for kids and teens in support of our goal to teach children and young adults the importance of treating animals in a humane way — a lesson that will benefit them and the animals in our community for a lifetime. Camps are available at our shelters in Denver, Castle Rock as well as at our Harmony Equine Center in Franktown.

Class  Duration Age and Description  Cost  Date/Location -
Click to Register

Summer Critter Career Camps

4 days

Children entering 6th-8th grades can come to our Quebec Street shelter in Denver or the Buddy Center in Castle Rock to explore careers in animal welfare.

 $275

Monday, June 2-Thursday, June 5
Quebec Street Shelter

Monday, June 9-Thursday, June 12
Quebec Street Shelter

Monday, June 16-Thursday, June 19
Quebec Street shelter

Monday, June 23-Thursday, June 26
Buddy Center

If you would like to register for Critter Careers Camp, you can register online by clicking on the week you prefer, or print out the registration form and mail or fax it to us.

Equine Exploration Camp

2 days

Grades 6th-8th. Before heading back to school, spend two days learning about all things horses—from hay to z! This fun, educational camp, for grades 6-8, will be spent exploring horse anatomy, body language, markings and more. Meet an ambassador horse and learn how you can help homeless equines in Colorado.

$120

Monday, June 30-Tuesday, July 1

9 a.m. to  3 p.m.

If you would like to register for Equine Exploration Camp, you can register online by clicking the date, or print out the registration form and mail or fax it to us.

 Critter Camp

 5 days

Send your 3rd-5th grade kids to our Quebec Street shelter for a howling good time! From companion pets to local wildlife, we’ll cover all kinds of creatures. Your child will learn how to be safe around animals and work with a variety of shelter pets. Experienced and enthusiastic staff, guest speakers and some cuddly critters will give your child a week of learning through activities, games and crafts.

 $300

Monday, July 7-Friday, July 11

Monday, July 14-Friday, July 18

Monday, July 21-Friday, July 25

Monday, July 28-Friday, August 1

Monday, August 4-Friday, August 8

Monday, August 11-Friday, August 15

If you would like to register, you can register online by clicking on the week you prefer, or print out the registration form and mail or fax it to us.

Clubs & programs

Junior Volunteer Club introduces young people to the benefits of volunteering in an animal shelter. Junior volunteers must be between ages 12 and 15, dependable and responsible, have good communication skills, be willing to take on a variety of tasks and have an enthusiasm for working with people and animals. 

Our Junior Foster Parent program provides an opportunity for young people ages 12 to 17 to gain hands-on experience with the responsibilities involved in caring for animals. Prospective junior foster parents complete an application and a personal interview with our volunteer services manager. Home inspections are conducted next to see where the foster animal(s) will be living, sleeping and eating. Junior foster parents then attend an orientation class. Following the orientation, the new junior foster parent receives a call from a foster care coordinator offering a foster animal.